MANHATTAN, KANSAS, U.S. — The Kansas State University (KSU) Department of Grain Science and Industry and the IGP Institute are looking for high quality candidates for a 12-month, non-tenure faculty appointment.

“At the university, we believe in delivering high quality educational programs for our students and industry professionals that feature the product attributes of Kansas and U.S. grains and oilseeds,” said Gordon Smith, director of the IGP Institute and head of the Department of Grain Science and Industry. “It is important to have someone leading our flour milling program who brings practical experience to the classroom so they can share their ‘real-world’ experiences to our students.”

The IGP Institute is currently seeking applications for its flour milling and grain processing curriculum manager position. Qualified candidates must possess a bachelor’s degree in milling science, cereal science, process/agricultural engineering or a related discipline as well as having five years of direct experience in flour milling or grain processing.

Smith said the successful candidate will be actively involved in the promotion and marketing of the IGP Institute and the grain science department. Additional job responsibilities include: collaboration with industry partners to develop non-credit programs, delivery of educational programs relating to flour milling and grain processing, international travel to industry conferences, and collaboration on research opportunities to benefit the wheat and grain processing industries.
Serving the industry will be a key component of this position, said Smith.

“Our industry partners have made a significant investment in our programming and we are working hard to exceed their expectations,” he said.

Industry partners such as the Kansas Wheat Commission also see value in this connection. “We appreciate the relationship with the IGP Institute and see this position as key to further supporting the mission of our joint programs,” said Justin Gilpin, chief executive officer of the Kansas Wheat Commission.

For more information, click here.