John 'Dub' Miner (center), Shawnee Milling Company, recipient of the 2016 Milling Operative of the Year award, is joined onstage by Mark Watts, left, Shawnee Milling and Jason Watt, Kansas State University. 
Photo by Arvin Donley.
LENEXA, KANSAS, U.S. —Each year the International Association of Millers (IAOM) recognizes the achievements and contributions of its members to the grain processing industry. The 2017 Awards Committee, chaired by Joel Hoffa, seeks nominations for this year's awards, which highlight the commitment of professionals in operations, sanitation and food protection, membership, service, and research and development. Together these awards celebrate the efforts of those who work to advance the understanding of grain milling.

The awards include:
  • The Arlin B. Ward Commendation for Collaboration in Milling Education —for exceptional contributions in the sphere of milling education.
  • J. George Kehr Memorial Award —for achievement in membership recruitment
  • George B. Wagner Memorial Award —for contributions to sanitation and food protection
  • Donald S. Eber Award —for long and dedicated service as an IAOM District secretary-treasurer
  • Thaddeus B. Bownik Outstanding Service Award —in recognition of outstanding service to the milling industry and IAOM.
  • Allied Trades Technology Award — presented for their research and development in milling technology
  • IAOM Milling Operative of the Year —in recognition of exemplary performance by a miller

All nominations must be submitted by Feb. 15, 2017. Nominations should include a summary of the major achievements of the nominee. Be sure to state the award for which your nominee should be considered. These awards, including the Milling Operative of the Year, will be presented during the banquet at the Annual Conference & Expo.

To make a nomination online, click here.

To make a nomination via e-mail send information as a Word document attachment in an e-mail to [email protected]. Include re: Milling Operative of the Year Award as the subject line in the email.

Hard copy nominations should be submitted to:

IAOM Nominating Committee

c/o IAOM Headquarters Office

12351 W. 96th Terrace, Suite 100

Lenexa, KS 66215