ST. LOUIS, MISSOURI, U.S. — The board of directors of the American Soybean Association (ASA) announced on Dec. 10 that it has confirmed Alan Kemper from Lafayette, Indiana, U.S., as president and Rob Joslin from Sidney, Ohio, U.S., as chairman. Board members also elected Steve Wellman from Syracuse, Nebraska, U.S., to serve as first vice-president, an office that places Wellman in line to be ASA president in 2012.

Also elected were Randy Mann from Auburn, Kentucky, U.S., as secretary, and Danny Murphy from Canton, Mississippi, U.S., as treasurer. Four vice-presidents were also elected: Ray Gaesser from Corning, Iowa, U.S.; Ron Kindred from Atlanta, Illinois, U.S.; Joe Steiner from Mason, Ohio, U.S.; and Bob Worth from Lake Benton, Minnesota, U.S. These soybean farmer-leaders form the nine-member ASA Executive Committee. Elections were held on Dec. 9, during ASA’s winter board of director’s meeting in Saint Louis.

"It’s going to be a bright future for the U.S. soybean industry," Kemper said. "ASA will continue to do everything it can to make sure soybean farmers have a viable operation and a good chance of continued profitability on their farmstead. For one, you have the farm bill and how that’s moving forward with the dollars being very limited in Congress today. We need to make sure the farmers have risk management tools to allow them and their younger generations to adequately protect their farm."

"It’s exciting to look forward to the opportunities that I’ll have to continue to serve ASA and our membership," Wellman said. "The way I want to approach policy is three steps: coordinate, plan and act. Coordinate the efforts of interested parties, plan strategy and steps we need to take in our policy development, and then act on those first two steps to achieve ASA’s goals."

Following the elections, committee assignments were announced. Public Affairs Committee Chairman Steve Wellman is joined by committee members Jim Andrew (Iowa), Charles Cannatella (Louisiana), Todd Dumond (New York), Ted Glaub (Arkansas), Bob Henry (Kansas), Kevin Hoyer (Wisconsin), Ron Kindred (Illinois), Kevin Marriott (Canada), Lance Peterson (Minnesota), David Poppens (South Dakota), Robert Ross (Oklahoma), Curt Sindergard (Iowa), Jeff Sollars (Ohio), Lawrence Sukalski (Minnesota), Andy Welden (Michigan), Wyatt Whitford (North Carolina) and Richard Wilkins.

The Membership & Corporate Relations Committee Chairman is Ray Gaesser, with committee members Dan Beenken (Iowa), Ron Bunjer (Minnesota), Sam Butler (Alabama), Wade Cowan (Texas), Kelly Forck (Missouri), John Freeman (Arkansas), Walter Godwin (Georgia/Florida), Bruce Hall (Virginia), Tim Goodenough (Wisconsin), Eric Maupin (Tennessee), Warren Stemme (Missouri) and Bob Worth (Minnesota).

Danny Murphy was appointed chairman of the Trade Policy & International Affairs Committee. Committee members are Dennis Bogaards (Iowa), Mike Cunningham (Illinois), Dan Feige (South Dakota), M.D. Floyd (South Carolina), Scott Fritz (Indiana), Mark Jackson (Iowa), Randy Mann (Kentucky), Jim Miller (Nebraska), Ron Moore (Illinois), Barb Overlie (Minnesota), Jason Nelson (North Dakota), Joe Steiner (Ohio) and Jack Trumbo (Kentucky).

Danny Murphy was appointed Chairman of the Finance Committee, with Dennis Bogaards (Iowa), Ron Bunjer (Minnesota), Ted Glaub (Arkansas), Tim Goodenough (Wisconsin), Bob Henry (Kansas) and Jeff Sollars (Ohio) serving as committee members.

The Board welcomed four new members who are Eric Maupin (Tennessee), Sam Butler (Alabama), Walter Godwin (Georgia/Florida) and Wade Cowan (Texas). ASA also recognized retiring directors Johnny Dodson (Tennessee), Joseph Mills (Alabama), Mark Detweiler (Georgia/Florida) and Mike Skinner (Texas).