CHS headquarters
ST. PAUL, MINNESOTA, U.S. – CHS owners have elected farmers from Illinois and Minnesota, and re-elected five other farmers to serve three-year terms as directors of CHS, a farmer-owned cooperative and global energy, grains and foods company.

The owners also elected a Washington farmer to serve a one-year term on the cooperative’s board of directors.

The elections took place during the 2017 CHS Annual Meeting held Dec. 8, in Minneapolis, Minnesota, U.S. CHS directors must be full-time farmers or ranchers to be eligible for election to the 17-member board.

Three new directors were elected from Minnesota, Illinois and Washington.

Scott Cordes of Wanamingo, Minnesota, U.S., succeeds Curt Eischens of Minneota, who had served on the board since 1990. With his brother and nephew, Cordes operates a 1,000-acre corn and soybean farm. He received his bachelor's degree in agricultural economics from the University of Minnesota and previously was the president of CHS Hedging.

Tracy Jones of Kirkland, Illinois, U.S., succeeds Greg Kruger of Eleva, Wisconsin, U.S., who had served on the board since 2008. Jones, who operates a corn, soybean and wheat farm, and also finishes 1,400 head of feedlot cattle annually, has been chairman of the CHS Elburn board of directors since 2011. 

Russ Kehl of Quincy, Washington, U.S., fills the final year of a three-year term previously held by David Bielenberg, who resigned in June 2017. Kehl raises potatoes, dry beans and other crops on a 12,000-acre farm. A director for CHS Connell Grain since 2004, Kehl also operates a dry bean processing facility and cow-calf operation.

Re-elected were C.J. Blew, Castleton, Kansas, U.S.; Jon Erickson, Minot, North Dakota, U.S.; Edward Malesich, Dillon, Montana, U.S.; Perry Meyer, New Ulm, Minnesota, U.S.; and Dan Schurr, LeClaire, Iowa, U.S.

Following the annual meeting, the CHS Board re-elected Schurr to a one-year term as chairman. Other directors selected as officers for 2018 were:

  • C.J. Blew, first vice-chairman 
  • David Johnsrud, Starbuck, Minnesota, secretary-treasurer
  • Jon Erickson, second vice-chairman
  • Steve Riegel, Ford, Kansas, assistant secretary-treasurer