ST. PAUL, MINNESOTA, U.S. — CHS Inc. owners elected five board members to three-year terms during the cooperative’s 2019 annual meeting in Minneapolis, Minnesota, U.S.

CHS Inc. is a global agribusiness owned by farmers, ranchers and cooperatives across the United States. Diversified in energy, agronomy, grains and foods, CHS works to create connections to empower agriculture, helping its farmer-owners, customers and other stakeholders grow their businesses through its domestic and global operations.

Hal Clemensen and Kevin Throener were elected to three-year terms.

Clemensen succeeds former director Randy Knecht, who retired from the CHS board of directors on Dec. 6. Clemensen represents Region 4, covering South Dakota, and has been the president of the board of directors of Agtegra Cooperative since its formation in 2018. He was president of the South Dakota Wheat Growers Association from 2005 until its merger with North Central Farmers Elevator in 2018. He is a past director and is an active member of the South Dakota Soybean Association and an active member of South Dakota Corn Growers. In 2015, the National Council of Farmer Cooperatives named him Farmer Cooperative Director of the year.

He has a bachelor of science degree in agricultural economic and agricultural business from South Dakota State University. Clemensen was appointed to the board’s government relations and corporate risk committees.

Throener succeeds former director Dennis Carlson, who retired from the board on Dec. 6, and represents Region 3, which covers North Dakota. Throener has been a director of CHS Dakota Plains Ag since 2014 and served as vice-president of the Sargent County Farmers Union board of directors since 2007. He studied agricultural systems management at North Dakota State University. He was appointed to the board’s governance committee and the CHS Foundation Board of Trustees.

Following the annual meeting, the board held its annual re-organization meeting. Each of the following board members was elected to one-year officer terms:

  • Dan Schurr, chair.
  • C.J. Blew, first vice-chair.
  • Jon Erickson, second vice-chair.
  • Russ Kehl, secretary-treasurer.
  • Steve Riegel, assistant secretary-treasurer.