MANHATTAN, KANSAS, U.S. — Nine individuals were recognized during the 100th anniversary of Kansas State University (KSU) Grain Science and Industry Department celebration Oct. 2. The individuals were recognized with video tributes and plaques throughout the day for their career contributions to the department and the grain industry.

Five of those individuals were present including Robert Schoeff, extension specialist focusing on grain elevator safety; Charles Deyoe, former department head and animal nutrition specialist; Charles Hoseney, cereal chemist; Paul Seib, cereal chemist, all of Manhattan, Kansas, U.S.; and Okkyung Chung, cereal chemist, Birmingham, Alabama, U.S.

Additionally, four individuals were recognized posthumously for their contributions to the KSU Grain Science and Industry Department including Arlin Ward, milling science professor instrumental in development of the International Grains Program; Karl Finney, cereal chemist and wheat quality researcher; William Hoover, former department head and former president of American Institute of Baking; and John Shellenberger, former department head who oversaw significant expansion of the department. The families of Hoover and Shellenberger attended the evening gala and were presented plaques.

A ceremonial groundbreaking of the O.H. Kruse Feed Mill and BioRefinery Teaching and Research Center, educational sessions and tours of departmental facilities was held as well.

The weekend activities conclude the centennial events planned by the department. Plans are underway to release a commemorative video of all of the 2010 centennial events, including the Centennial Lecture series, in the spring of 2011.