MANHATTAN, KANSAS, U.S. — The Kansas State University (KSU) Department of Grain Science and Industry will celebrate its 100-year anniversary on Oct. 1-2 with a weekend full of many special events. KSU is the only university in the world offering undergraduate and graduate degrees in bakery science and management, feed science and management and milling science and management.

Established in 1910, KSU’s Department of Grain Science and Industry works with the grain-based food, feed, fiber, fuel and bio-products supply chain, according to Grain Science Department Head Dirk Maier. The 195 students enrolled in the program get practical, hands-on experience in KSU’s modern pilot plants and laboratories, which include a bakery, feed manufacturing facility, an industrial-scale flour mill and an extrusion center.

Highlighting the celebration will be two events for the public on Oct. 2. An open house in the morning will be hosted by departmental faculty, staff and students, with tours of the Grain Science north facilities and Shellenberger Hall on the main campus.

A science forum, "Global Impact Through Research and Technology Transfer" from 1:45 to 4:30 p.m. will feature several individuals who have made extraordinary contributions to research and global outreach over the past century.

Honorees include:

  • John A. Shellenberger, cereal chemist. He served as department head during a period of extensive growth and presided over the construction of a new building, later named in his honor.
  • Okky Chung, cereal chemist, who is known for her work in basic and applied research in studies on the characterization and quantification of cereal lipids.
  • Robert W. Schoeff, feed and grain elevator safety expert. He was the first to document grain elevator explosions, and is credited with raising awareness of the safety factors involved, which led to a dramatic decrease in explosions.
  • Carl Hoseney, cereal chemist, who is well-known for his scientific work and publications. He mentored many graduate students who later made contributions to the field.
  • Paul Seib, cereal chemist. He specialized in carbohydrates and is known for his patented work on stable forms of vitamin C.
  • Charles Deyoe, animal science and nutrition expert. He developed a significant source of non-proteinaceous nitrogen for use in animal feed for ruminant animals.
  • Karl Finney, cereal chemist. He is known for his work in chemical and physical properties of Kansas hard wheats. A wheat variety was named in his honor: the "Karl."
  • Arlin Ward, milling science professor. He was instrumental in the development of the International Grains Program and conceived the program model "short course" used today to educate international agricultural professionals.
  • William Hoover, who served as department head and later went on to lead the American Institute of Baking.

Highlighting the afternoon activities will be the groundbreaking for the new $13 million O.H. Kruse Feed Mill and Biorefinery at 5 p.m. on Oct. 2.

Other activities, including a golf tournament, lunches and receptions, are scheduled throughout the weekend. For additional information, see the Grain Science and Industry department website at for detailed information on the celebrations schedule.