WEST PERTH, AUSTRALIA — Seven new growers were appointed to CBH Group’s Growers’ Advisory Council (GAC).

The GAC was formed in 2003 when CBH and the Grain Pool of WA merged and the then Producers Council of WA transitioned to become the GAC.

It comprises 16 Western Australian grain growers who help communicate between the co-operative’s board and growers at grass roots level.

“I warmly welcome the seven successful candidates to the council, and I look forward to working with each of them as CBH continues to focus on returning value to Western Australian growers,” said Wally Newman, chairman of the CBH.

Due to the expiration of the terms of sitting councilors, there were seven open positions on the council this year. The following growers will commence their term on July 1: 

District Two 

  • Michael Caughey from Merredin
  • Stephanie Clarke from Bolgart

District Three

  • Craig Doney from Kulin

District Four 

  • Gerard Paganoni from Broomehill
  • Jeffrey Stoney* from Gnowellen

District Five 

  • Daniel Sanderson from Esperance
  • Andrew Chambers* from Ravensthorpe

No appointments were made in District One due to the minimum number of candidates had been met.

Following a review of the GAC Charter last year, a councilor’s term is now a single period of four years. Jeffrey Stoney and Andrew Chambers will complete three-year terms to stagger the terms of councilors in each district. 

The GAC Selection Committee also agreed to extend the term of Neville McDonald for a further two years, as the incumbent chair. McDonald was appointed GAC chair in April, replacing Michelle Barrett, who has retired from the council. 

Newman paid tribute to Barrett for her work in leading the GAC for the past two years and congratulated the new grower members on their appointments. 

“The GAC is essential in providing the CBH Group board and senior management team with invaluable insights and knowledge at the grass roots level, particularly on issues that directly impact growers’ businesses,” Newman said. “To that end, we would like to thank the outgoing GAC councilors — Michelle Barrett, Barry West, Royce Taylor, David Cox, Andrew Nixon, Francis Panizza and William Bailey — for their contributions. 

“We trust they will continue to play an active role in sharing their knowledge and experience through the GAC alumni. In particular, our thanks go to Michelle Barrett who served as GAC Chair from February 2017 to April 2019. Michelle was the first female GAC chair, and a great asset to the co-operative in providing real world experience and farming insight.”

The first meeting of the new GAC will take place in August.