CHATSWOOD, AUSTRALIA — Grains Australia Ltd. on Oct. 26 announced the appointment of eight industry representatives to its newly established Oat Council. Council members include growers, breeders, grain traders, quality and technical experts, and processors and handlers from across Australia.

The new Grains Australia Oat Council members include:

  • Ashley Wiese, Chair of GIWA Oat Council and Grower from Narrogin, Western Australia
  • Calvin Chiew, CBH Group
  • David Oates, Demeter Cormack
  • Greg Carroll, Croker Grain
  • Jack King, Australian Export Grains Innovation Centre (AEGIC)
  • Michael Vaccari, Unigrain
  • Sara Grafenauer, University of New South Wales
  • Tress Walmsley, InterGrain.

Three of the appointed Grains Australia Oat Council members are also currently on the Grain Industry Association of Western Australia (GIWA) Oat Council.

Grains Australia Chairman Terry Enright said the top priority for the new Oat Council will be assisting with the establishment of a national oat classification system, working closely with GIWA, AEGIC, InterGrain and other industry stakeholders.

“The Oat Council will also have key responsibilities in providing advice to Grains Australia on international trade and market access priorities relevant to the Australian oat industry and its requirements for market information and education,” Enright said.

Appointments to the Oat Council were made following an open expression of interest (EOI) process and review of all applications by a Selection Panel that considered skills and experience as well as diversity in terms of gender, background, supply chain understanding, geography, and knowledge of the Australian oat industry.

The Oat Council joins Grains Australia’s other Commodity Councils for wheat and barley, which were established earlier this year. Plans are also in progress to establish a Pulse Council and Oilseeds Council in the coming year.