CBH Port of Albany
The CBH Group exports wheat through its terminal at the western Australia Port of Albany.
Photo courtesy of CBH.
WEST PERTH, AUSTRALIA — Wally Newman chairman of the CBH Group, and Vern Dempster, deputy chair, have won re-election. Both positions were up for election in April following grower elections earlier this year. As a result, Newman has been reappointed unopposed as chair of the CBH board.

Newman said he was looking forward to entering his second term as chair after first being appointed in 2014.

CBH chairman Wally Newman
Wally Newman, CBH chairman.

“I appreciate and respect the role as chair and am honored to be part of a strong board governing Australia’s largest co-operative,” Newman said. “Over the last 12 months the board has demonstrated its commitment to ensuring the best future for CBH and its growers with much more to achieve; we have a busy year ahead of us rolling out the Network Strategy, among other initiatives. I’m also looking forward to implementing the key desires growers expressed in the Structure and Governance survey last year.”

Dempster was similarly reappointed unopposed being first elected as deputy chair in 2013 and returned to the position for a second term in 2014.

“I’m pleased to be continuing work as deputy chair of the CBH board after being re-elected by growers earlier this year,” Dempster said. “Last year was a busy one for the board and I’m looking forward to working alongside my fellow directors as we continue to help cement CBH as the leading grain handler and marketer in Australia.”

With the election complete the CBH board continues to search for its new chief executive officer (CEO).  Andy Crane, CBH’s current CEO, announced his decision to step down on March 31. The board and Crane will work together to find his successor.

Crane said the board will continue to have his full commitment as they work together proactively in the coming year to deliver a smooth transition to the new CEO of CBH and ensure the ongoing focus of creating and returning value to both current and future generations of WA grain growers.