ST. PAUL, MINNESOTA, U.S. — CHS Inc. and United Prairie, LLC, a full-service agronomy retailer, announced on Sept. 23 that CHS has agreed in principal to join United Prairie as a new partner and owner.

"CHS as a new partner will allow us to bring additional services and cutting edge technologies to our customers," said Tim Hughes, general manager, United Prairie, LLC. "As a locally owned company, we are always focused on bringing better services and offerings to our patrons. Adding CHS to our ownership group accomplishes that mission and more. This is a real win-win for the patrons and employees of United Prairie and CHS."

"This investment is an important part of our strategic growth plans on behalf of our farmer-owners," said Lynden Johnson, executive vice-president, Country Operations division of CHS. "We are always looking for opportunities to strengthen local resources that ultimately help our owners and other customers grow their operations."

"This is a rare opportunity for our patrons to access new technologies and strengthen the already high level of service United Prairie offers," said Scott Docherty, United Prairie, director, and general manager of Topflight Grain Inc. "The new ownership group is still locally controlled but adds the tremendous resources that CHS brings."

"This is an opportunity to bring additional value to our customers and employees," said Roger Miller, United Prairie, board president, and CEO of Premier Cooperative. "Adding CHS to our ownership group will give our patrons the improved purchasing power that a company with the size that CHS brings."

Formed in 1996, United Prairie, LLC, serves the seed, fertilizer and crop protection needs of central Illinois farmers in the U.S. from retail locations in Tolono, Ivesdale, Pierson, White Heath, Dewey and Jamaica. The business operates under a philosophy that puts a priority on adapting and growing to meet the needs of the local grower. Owned jointly by Premier Cooperative and Topflight Grain Inc., United Prairie is managed by a board of directors comprised mainly of local growers.