PARAMARIBO, SURINAME — The 14th Annual General Meeting (AGM) of the Caribbean Millers’ Association (CMA) took place at the Hotel Torarica in Paramaribo, Suriname from Dec. 7-8 under the theme “Sustainable Development in the Agricultural Sector.” Representatives from 50 companies attended the two-day event.

The public session on Dec. 7 was chaired by Julio Bhikharie, chief executive officer of Meelmaatschappij De Molen Flour Mill of Suriname, which was the host mill for the conference. The Minister of Industry, Trade and Commerce of Suriname Michael Miskin declared the conference open as he welcomed all the delegates to Suriname. Winston Ramautarsing gave the opening presentation.

Outgoing president of the CMA, Jai Bene, president of Caribbean Flour Mills and also a partner in De Molen of Suriname, took chairmanship after the public session where presentations were made by members and associate members of the CMA.

Officers were also elected during the event:

President: Elvis De-Riggs, East Caribbean Group - Companies, St. Vincent;

1st Vice-President: Bert Sukhai, National Flour Milling Company, Guyana; and

2nd Vice-President: Tom Sowden, Kansas City Bags, U.S.

The secretary/treasurer remains Derrick Nembhard, Jamaica Flour Mills and the secretariat continues to be located in Kingston, Jamaica.

The 15th AGM is scheduled for Belize City, Belize at a date to be determined.