MINNEAPOLIS, MINNESOTA, U.S. — MGEX announced on Oct. 3 the results from its board of directors’ election. Re-elected to the board were Albert Cyrlin and Murray Stahl. Newly elected to the board was Thomas P. Gallagher. All were elected to serve two-year terms.

Jesse Marie B. Green, chief of staff and assistant corporate secretary of MGEX, said five candidates ran for three open board positions. A total of 296 votes on proxies were received.

“On behalf of MGEX ownership and management, I would like to thank outgoing director John A. Griffith for his service to MGEX over the last four years,” said Mark G. Bagan, president and chief executive officer of MGEX. “I would also like to welcome Thomas P. Gallagher to the board, and I look forward to continue working with both of the re-elected members to further grow and develop business for the Exchange.”

The board will meet on Oct. 8 to elect the executive committee and board officers, as well as to appoint the two public director positions up for election.

MGEX, a Designated Contract Market (DCM) and Derivatives Clearing Organization (DCO), was established in 1881 and is the only market for Hard Red Spring Wheat (HRSW), National Corn Index (NCI), National Soybean Index (NSI), Hard Red Winter Wheat Index (HRWI), Hard Red Spring Wheat Index (HRSI), and Soft Red Winter Wheat Index (SRWI) futures and options, as well as for HRSW calendar spread options.