WASHINGTON, D.C., U.S. — The U.S. Department of Agriculture is seeking nominees to serve on the Grain Inspection Advisory Committee.

Established in 1981, the Advisory Committee represents the interests of all segments of the U.S. grain industry from producer to exporter, providing advice on the programs and services USDA delivers under the U.S. Grain Standards Act. The USDA relies on the recommendations made by the Advisory Committee to better meet the needs of its customers.

The committee is composed of 15 members who represent the interests of grain producers, processors, handlers, merchandisers, consumers, exporters and scientists with expertise in research related to the policies in section 2 of the USGSA. Individuals appointed to the committee are allowed to serve one three-year term. While members of the Advisory Committee serve without compensation, the USDA provides reimbursement for travel expenses incurred in performance of Advisory Committee.

Submit nominations by mailing form AD-755 to: Kendra Kline by email: Kendra.C.Kline@usda.gov, fax: 202-690-2333 or U.S. Mail: U.S. Department of Agriculture, 1400 Independence Ave., SW, Rm. 2043-S, Mail Stop 3614, Washington, DC 20250-3611.

More information about the Advisory Committee is available on the Federal Grain Inspection Service page of the AMS website..