MINNEAPOLIS, MINNESOTA, U.S. — Applications are now being accepted for the Grain Elevator and Processing Society’s (GEAPS) 2019 Safety Awards Program.

The program recognizes facilities that go an entire year without a work-related lost-time injury or illness and facilities that have zero recordable work-related injuries or illnesses.

Facilities that successfully complete the program are rewarded with a plaque, and are recognized at the Exchange, on the GEAPS website and in GEAPS’ bi-monthly newsletter.

Steve Myers, Bunge Milling, GEAPS first vice-president, will preside over the Safety Awards at GEAPS Exchange 2019.

“Safety is about putting people first,” Myers said. “With the potential risks involved with storing and processing grain, having a strong safety plan in place is critical and takes daily oversight to minimize risks. It’s important to recognize all the companies that are effectively making safety a priority.”

 Companies that have participated in the past are encouraged to enroll online.

For first-time companies, applications are available on GEAPS Safety Award’s website. Enrollment must be completed and submitted to GEAPS by Jan. 7, 2019.

Facilities must then go all of 2019 without a work-related lost-time injury or illness, and complete the online reporting form or submit their 2019 OSHA 300A form, along with the total number of personnel hours worked at the facility during the calendar year.

 A separate form or signed letters on company letterhead stating that there were no lost-time injuries or illnesses and reporting the total personnel-hours worked are accepted for facilities outside the U.S. Please contact Deb Most with GEAPS for more information.

 The program is open to grain storage and processing facilities, as well as suppliers and millwrights. The enrollment fee is $95 for facilities that employ a GEAPS member, and $140 for non-member facilities. Only one facility discount is allowed per member.

 Results of the program are announced each year at GEAPS Exchange. 2019 Safety Award winners will be recognized at Exchange 2020 in Minneapolis, Minnesota, U.S., and 2018 program winners will be announced at Exchange 2019 in New Orleans, Louisiana, U.S.