ST. PAUL, MINNESOTA, U.S. — Several innovative products using grain were presented during the 2010 AACC International Student Product Development Competition held during the 2010 AACC International Annual Meeting Oct. 24-27 in Savannah, Georgia, U.S.

Products included a grain-based tea, fruit and energy bars, and a corn-based probiotic-filled gum.

Top innovative products were chosen from 13 teams that competed to develop a new, original food product consisting of one cereal product as the main ingredient. Each team prepared a report discussing product description, target market, and processing/packaging procedures. Five teams were selected to present their products to the judges at the AACC meeting. Each finalist team created a poster describing formulation, shelf life, marketing aspects, processing, packaging, and other relevant information regarding their products. Teams delivered a 10-minute oral presentation for the judges and provided servings of the product at a tasting session.

Team “Granoté - Sorghum Tisane” from Kansas State University took the first place prize of $2,550. Team members Angela Dodd and Daniela Nath de Oliveira developed a fat-free grain tea made with cracked red sorghum that was roasted and combined with a dried pineapple and orange fruit mix.

“The BETA Fruit Bar” took second place with a prize of $1,000. The University of Manitoba team, with Tara Ayotte and Joel Lamoureux, created a dual-layer prebiotic fruit bar containing the prebiotic ?-glucan and apple pomace for moisture, flavor, and nutritive value.

Third place was captured by "á bloc," from the University of Arkansas team, consisting of members Chelsea Castrodale, Kate Cook and Curtis Luckett. The $850 prize went to this organic, whole grain, gluten-free energy bar marketed toward endurance athletes and outdoor enthusiasts.

Teams “Prozea Chewing Gum” from Iowa State University and “Tamarangles” from Cornell University also competed in the competition. Each finalist team received a $300 travel award.

This event was made possible by the sponsorship of AB Mauri Fleischmann, Caravan Ingredients, Cargill, Inc., CHOPIN Technologies, ConAgra, David Michael & Co., General Mills, Kellogg Co., Polypro Intl. Inc., Starquest F.O.O.D. Consulting LLC and TIC Gums. Student member Yanjie Bai, Kansas State University, chaired the event.