TEGMA Ryan Pellett
Ryan Pellett, new chairman of TEGMA.

KANSAS CITY, MISSOURI, U.S. — Ryan Pellett, president of J.D. Heiskell & Co., Elkhorn, Nebraska, U.S., has been elected chairman of the Transportation, Elevator and Grain Merchants Association (TEGMA) for 2016.

Pellett most recently held the position of first vice-president at TEGMA and was elected to the group’s top position Jan. 28 at the annual meeting in Scottsdale, Arizona, U.S.

As chairman, Pellett succeeds Mark Huston of Louis Dreyfus Commodities, Kansas City, Missouri, U.S., who served two one-year terms. Pellett credited Huston for boosting TEGMA activity, membership and member participation over the past two years.

Elected first vice-chairman of TEGMA was Roger Fray, executive vice-president, West Central Cooperative, Ralston, Iowa, U.S., and as second vice-president, Scott Mills, senior vice-president, Lansing Trade Group, Overland Park, Kansas, U.S.

Several members were elected to three-year terms on the TEGMA board, including Fray; Barbara Haertling, BNSF Railway, Fort Worth, Texas, U.S.; and Jason Hess, Union Pacific Railroad, Omaha, Nebraska, U.S.

Elected to one-year terms on the board were representatives of associate members: John Glynn, CIT Rail, Chicago, Illinois, U.S.; and Tom Meyer, Kansas Grain Inspection Service, Topeka, Kansas, U.S.

Incumbents on the board include Pete Goetzmann, ADM, Overland Park; Terry McDermott, Bunge North America, St. Louis; Mills; Wyatt Brummer, The Scoular Co., Overland Park; Huston; and Pellett.

TEGMA staff officers are Bob Petersen, president, and Erica Venancio, secretary-treasurer.

A North American Trade association, TEGMA members include grain shippers and receivers, as well as many related businesses including transportation companies, ports, and inspection agencies.