BEIJING, CHINA — The General Administration for Quality Supervision and Inspection and Quarantine (GAQSIQ) has lifted its ban on imports of wheat from six regions in Russia. The ban had been in place since 2016 as part of a quarantine requirement.

The six regions in Russia affected by the ban are Novosibirsk, Amur, Chelyabinsk, Omsk, Krasnoyarsk and Altai.

The GAQSIQ is a ministerial administrative agency directly under the State Council of the People’s Republic of China in charge of national quality, metrology, entry-exit commodity inspection, entry-exit health quarantine, entry-exit animal and plant quarantine, import-export food safety, certification and accreditation, standardization, as well as administrative law-enforcement.