Gill Marcus independent non-executive director
Gill Marcus
BAAR, SWITZERLAND — The board of directors of Glencore PLC has appointed a new independent non-executive director of the company, Gill Marcus. The appointment will be effective Jan. 1, 2018.

“I am extremely pleased that Gill Marcus has accepted the board’s invitation to become a director of Glencore,” said Tony Hayward, chairman of the board. “We believe that her long record of public service coupled with her finance experience, geo-political insights and non-executive board experience will be a great benefit to us.”

Marcus was governor of the South African Reserve Bank from November 2009 to November 2014.

Marcus worked in exile for the African National Congress from 1970 until 1994 in a variety of roles, including that of deputy secretary of Information and Publicity. Returning to South Africa in 1990, she was a member of the team that prepared for the first democratic elections. In 1994, she was elected to the South African Parliament, where she chaired the Joint Standing Committee on Finance. In 1996, she was appointed as deputy minister of Finance and in 1999 as deputy governor of the Reserve Bank, where she served for 5 years.

Marcus was the non-executive chairperson of the Absa Group from 2007-09. She also has been a non-executive director of Gold Fields Ltd and Bidvest.

Marcus has acted as chairperson of a number of South African regulatory and supervisory bodies, including the Financial Services Board and the Standing Committee for the Revision of the Banks Act. She also has served as a non-executive director of the Advisory Board of the Auditor General and was a member of the Millennium Labor Council.

Marcus is a graduate of the University of South Africa.
This is the latest leadership appointment for Glencore. In May, Martin Gilbert was appointed an independent non-executive director of Glencore PLC. Gilbert is a co-founder and chief executive of Aberdeen Asset Management PLC, the holding company of the fund management group that was established in 1983.