WASHINGTON, D.C., U.S. – U.S. Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue on Nov. 22 appointed 19 members and 3 alternate members to serve on the United Soybean Board.

The board is composed of 73 members representing 29 states and Eastern and Western regions. Members must be soybean producers and be nominated by a qualified state soybean board. The producers appointed to serve three-year terms include: 

  • Annie Dee, Aliceville, Alabama
  • Robert Stobaugh, Atkins, Arkansas
  • Gary Berg, Saint Elmo, Illinois
  • Tom Griffiths, Kendallville, Indiana
  • Thomas E. Oswald, Cleghorn, Iowa
  • Larry K. Marek, Riverside, Iowa
  • Dennis Gruenbacher, Andale, Kansas
  • Keith N. Tapp, Sebree, Kentucky
  • Belinda Burrier, Union Bridge, Maryland
  • Herb Miller, Niles, Michigan
  • Lawrence Sukalski, Fairmont, Minnesota
  • Philip Good, Macon, Missouri
  • Lewis Rone, Pontageville, Montana
  • Mike Korth, Randolph, Nebraska
  • Dave Dotterer, Rittman, Ohio
  • Ellie W. Green, Jr., Lynchburg, South Carolina
  • Marc V. Reiner, Tripp, South Dakota
  • David Nichols, Ridgely, Tennesse
  • Andrew W. Scott, Jr., Monte Alto, Texas
  • Colt Clemmons, Killen, Alabama -- Alternate
  • Fitzhugh Bethea, Dillon, South Carolina -- Alternate
  • Daniel C. Berglund, Wharton, Texas -- Alternate

"I truly appreciate the time and expertise that these individuals have agreed to provide, and know U.S. soybean producers will be well served by these men and women,” said Perdue.

The board is authorized by the Soybean Promotion, Research, and Information Act.  It became effective July 9, 1991, when the Soybean Promotion and Research Order was implemented.  

Since 1966, U.S. Congress has authorized the establishment of 22 industry-funded research and promotion boards. The boards are intended to help empower farmers and ranchers to leverage their own resources to develop new markets, strengthen existing markets, and conduct important research and promotion activities.