Brian Nielsen Equine Nutrition Award recipient
Brian D. Nielsen, left, receives the Equine Nutrition Research Award from Ashley Wagner of Probiotech, on behalf of AFIA.
Photo courtesy of AFIA.
WASHINGTON, D.C., U.S. — The Equine Science Society (ESS) recognized Brian D. Nielsen, a professor in the Department of Animal Science at Michigan State University, for his professional achievements in the equine industry on June 2, at the 2017 ESS Symposium in Minneapolis, Minnesota, U.S.

The Equine Nutrition Research Award is sponsored by the American Feed Industry Association (AFIA) as part of its ongoing awards program, which dates back to 1948. The award was presented to Nielsen by Ashley Wagner of Probiotech International Inc., on behalf of the AFIA. 

“Dr. Nielsen is a national and international leader in equine nutrition,” said Preston Buff, AFIA director of regulatory affairs and staff contact for the AFIA Nutrition and Equine Committees. “His contribution to equine nutrition research is impressive, and this award is well-deserved.”

Nielsen’s focus at Michigan State University is equine nutrition and exercise physiology. His research has led to 53 peer-reviewed journal articles, 23 book chapters and invited reviews and 174 conference papers and abstracts, as well as many presentations at both the national and international levels.

Nielsen also has received several other awards in the equine industry, including the Outstanding Teacher Award from the Midwest Section of the American Society of Animal Science and the American Dairy Science Association in 2005 and the ESS and ASAS Equine Science Award in 2010. He became a diplomat in the American College of Animal Nutritionists in 2001, served on the Nutrition Discipline Committee for the American College of Animal Scientists since 2014 and served on the National Academy of Sciences Committee on the Nutrient Requirements of Horses in 2007.

Nielsen received a bachelor’s degree in animal science at the University of Wisconsin—River Falls and a master’s degree and doctorate from Texas A&M University.