KANSAS CITY, MISSOURI, U.S. – During the Grain Elevator and Processing Society’s (GEAPS) Exchange 2017, the organization recognized long-time members, outstanding chapters and members of distinction.

The record-setting event was Feb.25-28 at the Kansas City Convention Center in Kansas City, Missouri, U.S.

Four individuals were recognized with the Chapter Member of Distinction Award. Awardees were nominated by chapter officers to recognize outstanding contributions to leadership or service to their chapter over the last year. Award winners included:

  • Jacob Elder, Perdue AgriBusiness, Mid-Atlantic Chapter
  • Tom Winkel, MaxYield Cooperative, North Iowa
  • Ray Brittingham, Mountaire Farms Inc, Mid-Atlantic
  • Ron Declerq, Nordstrong Equipment, Canadian Prairies

Two chapters were awarded the Outstanding Chapter Award and Chapter Cup.

The Outstanding Chapter Award went to the Mid-Atlantic Chapter. The award is given annually by GEAPS’ Membership Committee at the Exchange. Cheryl Lanskink, Comco, Siouxland, membership committee chair, helped evaluate submissions.

“It was a very difficult decision,” Lansink said. “Many of our chapters provide great programming for members. Some of the things that stood out for the Mid-Atlantic Chapter were their outreach to non-members and students. They also have a very diverse and creative meeting schedule and usually have very good attendance.”

Lansink also said the chapter does an excellent job including Associate members in meetings. The chapter held seven meetings in 2016; chapters are required to meet at least three times each year.

Inland Empire won the Chapter Cup for the second consecutive year, and the third time in the last five years. The award is given annually to the chapter that has highest recruitment of new members and retention of existing members. The chapter grew by 19% over the year, while retaining 95% of existing members.

GEAPS also honored those who have been members of the organization for 25 and 40 years. Eighteen people were recognized for 25 years of continuous membership including: Gary Allen, Alliance Grain Co, Cornbelt Chapter; Bonnie Bland, CR Conveying Inc, Great River; Richard Carlson, CHS Inc, Twin Ports; Allen Crawford, Cargill AgHorizons, Greater Nebraska; Al Dovale, Viterra, Vancouver; Gene Haldorson, VAA LLC, Minneapolis; Tom Hamilton, Alliance Grain Terminal Ltd, Vancouver; Mike Kiel, The Andersons Inc, Seaway; Colin Le Grand, ArrowCorp Inc, Canadian Prairies; Dirk Maier, Iowa State University, Greater Iowa; David Meins, Riceland Foods Inc, Mid-South; Joseph Olivier, Louis Dreyfus Commodities, Golden Triangle; Steve Peters, Steve Peters Co, Seaway; HL Putt, Riceland Foods Inc, Mid-South; Allan Schmidt, Ag Dryer Services Inc., Greater Nebraska; Lynn Stieglitz, Milan Center Feed & Grain Inc, Hoosier; Vernon Tegeler, Siemer Milling Co, Cornbelt; and Rene Wedding, RE Wedding Consulting Engineers, Vancouver.

Twelve individuals were recognized for 40 years of GEAP membership including: Jimmy Carlson, retired, Mid-America Chapter; Alfred Dressing, Missouri Power Transmission Inc, Gateway; Fred Edmaiston, Aircon Corp, Mid-South; Dick Elliott, retired, Kansas City; Leo Gebhart, retired, Great Plains; David Kerwood, retired, Greater Iowa; Dale Knapp, retired, Cornbelt; Bill Lyster, Lyster Consulting, Greater Iowa; Robert McCarley, retired, Mid-South; Steven McNulty, retired, Great Plains; George Pfandler, Retired, Gateway; and William Siemers, retired, Gulf South.