ARLINGTON, VIRGINIA, U.S. — AFIA is now accepting applications for the 2016 Feed Facility of the Year awards program, a redesign of theAFIA/Feedstuffs annual Feed Mill of the Year program. The program recognizes overall excellence in feed manufacturing operations, emphasizing safety, quality, regulatory compliance, operating efficiencies and overall industry awards.

“Many of our members want to know how their operations — whether they’re liquid feed facilities, pet food facilities, integrators, etc. — compare to others in the business,” said Gary Huddleston, AFIA manager of feed manufacturing safety and environmental affairs. “AFIA, along with Feedstuffs, is excited to launch its new Feed Facility of the Year awards program, which gives companies the opportunity to access important [anonymous] benchmarking information and the chance of public industry recognition.”

Huddleston said members will notice changes including a more diverse application system. 

“Since the previous program (Feed Mill of the Year) was not considered an industry-wide benchmarking program — and AFIA prides itself on representing the total feed industry — we made certain changes to address this in our new program. Feed Facility of the Year will be much more industry inclusive,” said Huddleston.

To keep benchmarking information relative, five award categories, with category-specific applications, are now considered:

-Commercial Dry Livestock Feed Facility
-Integrator Feed Facility
-Liquid Feed Facility
-Pet Food Facility
-Premix Manufacturing Facility

AFIA will recognize winners in each of the five categories and the overall Feed Facility of the Year winner at the 2017 IPPE. 

Applicationsare due by Sept. 30. A $35 fee must be paid per application, per facility.

Feed Facility of the Year is an AFIA members-only awards program. For information on how to join, clickhere.