IOAM John Dub Miner
John “Dub” Miner, director of Shawnee Milling Company.

COLUMBUS, OHIO, U.S. — John "Dub" Miner, director of Shawnee Milling Company, Shawnee, Oklahoma, U.S., was named the 2016 Milling Operative of the Year.

The award was presented on April 7 during the International Association of Operative Millers (IAOM) Annual Banquet & Awards Ceremony. The ceremony was part of IAOM’s 120th Annual Conference & Expo.

Established in 1986 by Milling & Baking News, sister publication of World Grain, the award is given to the practicing milling operative who has made the most significant contribution to the progress of a plant, a company and the industry from an operating point of view.

Also during the ceremony, Joe Woodard, ADM Milling Company, Arkansas City, Kansas, U.S., received the IAOM Gold Medal Award, which is the highest award given.

Syed Asharaf of Kice Industries, Wichita, Kansas, U.S., received the Allied Trade technology Award.

Shawnee Milling has a total wheat flour capacity of 11,000 cwts and two flour mills in Oklahoma. The company’s Foods Division in Shawnee, Oklahoma, U.S., includes a 7,000-cwt daily capacity flour mill, a 3,000-cwt daily capacity corn mill and a dry mix plant that specializes in wheat and corn-based baking mixes.

The Okeene Flour Mill in Okeene, Oklahoma, U.S., which has a capacity of 4,000 cwts, is located among some of the most productive wheat fields in the state. Okeene Milling specializes in bulk bakery flour, tortilla flour and whole wheat Flour sold under the Okeene and Angel White brands. Okeene Milling provides flour to a number of national baking companies.

Shawnee Milling has nine country elevators in prime wheat-growing regions in Oklahoma that receive grain directly from local farmers. The company has total storage capacity of 7.336 million bushels, according to Sosland Publishing’s 2016 Grain and Milling Annual.

Previous recipients of the Milling Operative of the Year include:

John Hultman from Ardent Mills, Denver, Colorado, U.S., in 2015

Domenico Santoianni, ADM Milling Co., Montreal, Quebec, Canada, in 2014

Tim Carroll, Pendleton Flour Mills, Blackfoot, Idaho, U.S., in 2013

Ken Ball, Star of the West Milling, Quincy, Michigan, U.S., in 2012

Scott Martin, ConAgra Mills, Omaha, Nebraska, U.S., in 2011

Emil Kolb, Cargill, Minneapolis, Minnesota, U.S., in 2010

Greg Ball, King Milling Company, Lowell, Michigan, U.S., in 2009

Ted Korolchuk, ConAgra Mills, Omaha, Nebraska, U.S., in 2008

Michael Wade Blalock, Milner Milling Company Inc., Barnesville, Georgia, U.S., in 2007

Todd Peterson, North Dakota Mill, Grand Forks, North Dakota, U.S., in 2006

Everett Abercrombie, Horizon Milling, Chattanooga, Tennessee, U.S., in 2005

Mike Long, Bay State Milling Company, Quincy, Massachusetts, U.S., in 2004

Bob Reid, The Mennel Milling Company, Fostoria, Ohio, U.S., in 2003

Kevin Doehring, American Italian Pasta Co., Excelsior Springs, Missouri, U.S., in 2002

Neil Mathieson, Robin Hood Multifoods Inc., Port Colborne, Ontario, Canada, in 2001