U.S. Wheat Associates
U.S. Wheat Associates Officers : Mike Miller, secretary-treasurer; Roy Motter, past chairman; Brian O'Toole, chairman; Chris Kolstad, secretary-treasurer elect; Jason Scott, vice-chairman; Alan Tracy, president.

WASHINGTON, D.C., U.S. — The U.S. Wheat Associates (USW) board of directors unanimously elected new officers for the 2016-17 (July to June) fiscal year at their meeting Feb. 6, in Washington, D.C., U.S. The board elected Chris Kolstad of Ledger, Montana, U.S., as secretary-treasurer; Jason Scott of Stevensville, Maryland, U.S., current vice-chairman as chairman; and Mike Miller of Ritzville, Washington, U.S., current secretary-treasurer, as vice-chairman. They will take office at the USW board meeting in July in Fargo, North Dakota, U.S., when Brian O’Toole of Crystal, North Dakota, U.S., current chairman will become past chairman. USW is the export market development organization for the U.S. wheat production industry.

U.S. Wheat Associates
Chris Kolstad was elected secretary-treasurer of U.S. Wheat Associates for fiscal year 2016-17.

“Wheat has paid the bills on my family’s farm for 100 years and I want to thank the board for giving me the opportunity to give something back to this country’s wheat industry,” Kolstad said. “I look forward to working with USW’s directors and staff, as well as with the National Association of Wheat Growers, to make sure U.S. wheat remains the world’s top choice for quality and value.”

Kolstad is the fourth generation of his family to farm in Montana’s “Golden Triangle” region. They grow hard red winter (HRW) wheat, dark northern spring wheat and durum, plus barley and dry peas.

Jason Scott is a sixth-generation wheat farmer from Maryland’s Eastern Shore, where he manages his family’s soft red winter (SRW) wheat, row crop and vegetable operation.
Mike Miller is a fourth-generation farmer who operates a dryland wheat farm and grows multiple crops on a separate, irrigated farm in east central Washington. He has served on many local, state and national boards, and is in his third term on the Washington Grain Commission and his fifth year as a USW director representing Washington.

Brian O’Toole is the president of T.E. O'Toole Farm Seed Company. He raises wheat, edible beans and sugarbeets on their northeast North Dakota farm.