LOUISVILLE, KENTUCKY, U.S. — The Grain Elevator and Processing Society (GEAPS) recognized individuals and GEAPS’ chapters during Exchange 2013 in Louisville, Kentucky, U.S.
GEAPS chapters were recognized for their recruitment efforts, and individuals were honored for 25 years of membership.
Inland Empire was awarded the Chapter of Distinction Cup for its efforts in retaining and recruiting new members during 2012. The Inland Empire Chapter retained 95% of its membership and increased membership by 11% last year. The Chapter of Distinction Cup is awarded to the chapter that, in addition to increasing membership, also has the highest level of retention. 
Twelve GEAPS chapters were also honored for posting membership gains during 2012. Those honorees were: Golden Triangle, 22%; Kansas City, 12%; Seaway, 11%; Minneapolis, 11%; Inland Empire, 11%; Greater Nebraska, 10%; Columbia River, 9%; Great River, 8%; Cornbelt, 5%; Canadian Prairies, 4%; Intermountain, 4%; and Hoosier, 1%.
In other chapter award news, nine GEAPS members were named Chapter Members of Distinction during the general session. The Chapter Member of Distinction award recognizes achievement on an individual level, and provides chapter officers the opportunity to recognize members in their chapters who have provided extraordinary leadership service.
The following members were awarded this honor:
• Van Buchanan, Great Plains
• Jimmy Carlson, Mid-Atlantic
• Dave Healey, Greater Nebraska
• David Hoffman, Tri-State
• Toivo Makila, Vancouver
• Steve Myers, Kansas City
• Carl Sellmyer, Cornbelt
• James Simpson, Hoosier
• Darren Zink, Hoosier   

The latest GEAPS Silver Pin honorees were also announced during the General Session at Exchange 2013. GEAPS Membership Committee Chair Bill Jefferson recognized 28 members who have belonged to GEAPS for 25 consecutive years. These members have been a part of GEAPS since 1988.
• Barney Bartels, AgVantage FS, Greater Iowa Chapter
• Robert Berkhahn, Cargill GOSCNA
• Rick Byquist, Canadian Prairies
• Opal Derrick, Riceland Foods Inc., Mid-South
• Mark Fedje, General Mills Inc., Minneapolis
• Roger Frederick, Brock Grain Systems, Cornbelt
• David Hunt, Riceland Foods Inc., Mid-South
• Thomas Keigley, Keigley & Co. Inc., Inland Empire
• Douglas Koob, Cargill Inc., Gulf South
• John Krupps, Ag-Industrial Millwright Service, Great River
• Ren Lapp, EMW Industrial, Canadian Prairies
• Alan Lee, Keigley & Co. Inc., Snake River
• William Macauley, Canadian Prairies
• Douglas McLemore, Eurofins Grain Inspection, Seaway
• Alvin Mullins, Riceland Foods Inc., Mid-South
• Jackie Murray, Riceland Foods Inc., Mid-South
• Mark Olson, Gamet Manufacturing, Minneapolis
• Tom Price, Richardson International Ltd., Canadian Prairies
• Russell Ronnebaum, Hammel Scale Co. Inc., Great Plains
• Ken Rowan, ROWAN Construction Ltd., Canadian Prairies
• Donald Schafer, Chebanse Grain Inc., Cornbelt
• Russell Seegers, Demeter LP, Seegers Grain Division 
• James Simpson, Cargill Inc., Hoosier
• Buzz Tourangeau, Great Plains
• Montie Walton, Johnston Enterprises Inc., Cherokee Strip
• Richard White, Consolidated Grain & Barge Co, Cornbelt
• Mike Whitney, Cereal Food Processors 
• Gary Wyman, The Andersons Inc., Michigan/Southern Ontario