ST. PAUL, MINNESOTA, U.S. — CHS, Inc. announced on Dec. 10 the election of a new board member and the re-election of its chairman.

Alan Holm of Sleepy Eye, Minnesota, U.S., was elected to a three-year term on the board at the recent CHS annual meeting on Dec. 6. During its yearly reorganization session following the annual meeting, board members re-elected David Bielenberg of Silverton, Oregon, U.S., to his second one-year term as chairman.

Holm, 53, brings to the CHS board nearly two decades' experience in cooperative and agricultural leadership. He has served 19 years on the board of what is now River Region Co-op, Sleepy Eye, Minnesota, the past eight as chairman. In addition, he has served as chairman of the Southern Minnesota Co-op Directors' Association and secretary of the Minnesota State Co-op Directors' Association. 

Holm also served two years on the CHS Resolutions Committee, including one as chairman. He has also served in leadership capacities with the Brown County Farm Service Agency county committee, Ag Star Financial Services Advisory Board and Renville Co-op Transport.

Holm has an associate's degree in machine tool technology from Mankato (Minnesota) Technical College and has participated in numerous cooperative and agriculture educational programs. He raises corn, soybeans, sweet corn, peas and hay on 1,400 acres near Sleepy Eye and also operates a 50-head cow-calf herd.

Also re-elected to one-year leadership terms were:

• Dennis Carlson, Bismarck, North Dakota, U.S., as first vice-chairman
• Dan Schurr, LeClaire, Iowa, U.S., as secretary-treasurer
• Steve Fritel, Rugby, North Dakota, U.S., as second vice-chairman
• Curt Eischens, Minneota, Minnesota, U.S., as assistant secretary-treasurer
Delegates also re-elected Carlson, Robert Bass, Reedsburg, Wisconsin, U.S., Randy Knecht, Houghton, South Dakota, U.S., and Steve Riegel, Ford, Kansas, U.S., to three-year terms on the CHS board.