CHICAGO, ILLINOIS, U.S. — GROWMARK announced several changes to its board of directors at the regional cooperative’s annual meeting in Chicago, Illinois, U.S., on Aug. 27.

Jim Anderson, Thompsonville, Illinois, U.S., and Kevin Herink, Clutier, Iowa, U.S., were elected to the board of directors. Ray Steffens, West Union, Iowa, U.S., has retired from the GROWMARK board of directors. He was commended for his years of service, which started in 1999.

Anderson will serve a three-year term and represent Farm Bureau on the board. He and his wife LuAnn operate a farm in Williamson County, raising 1,250 acres of corn and soybeans. He served 11 years as president of his county Farm Bureau, and 15 years on his local FS board of directors. He also served as director and president of the Interstate Producers Livestock Association.

Herink will serve a three-year term and represent Zone D on the board. He and his wife Tammy operate a 1,500-acre farm and market 5,000 head of hogs annually. They also keep a small herd of Gelbvieh cattle. Since 1987, Herink has served several terms on his local cooperative boards and is currently vice-president of the board of New Century FS.

Six of the 16 director seats, established by geographic zone, were up for election this year. GROWMARK has six established governance zones which cover all of North America. In addition, one director-at-large represents Illinois, Iowa, and Wisconsin Farm Bureaus. GROWMARK is affiliated with Farm Bureau in those states.