SPOKANE, WASHINGTON, U.S. — The U.S. Wheat Associates (USW) board of directors installed new officers at its annual meeting July 8, in Spokane, Washington, U.S. Darrell Davis (Ipswich, South Dakota, U.S.) was installed as chairman, while last year’s chairman Randy Suess (Colfax, Washington, U.S.) transitioned to past chairman and chairman of the USW Budget Committee. Other officers installed included Dan Hughes (Venango, Nebraska, U.S.) as vice-chairman and Roy Motter (Brawley, California, U.S.) as secretary-treasurer. USW officers were elected to these one-year positions at the January 2012 Winter Wheat Conference.

Committees met on July 6 and July 7, including the Joint Biotech and Joint International Trade Policy committees that operate in conjunction with the National Association of Wheat Growers (NAWG). Official business was called to order on July 7, and continued through July 8.

USW's next board meeting will be held jointly with the National Association of Wheat Growers in Houston, Texas, U.S., Oct. 24-27.