FARGO, NORTH DAKOTA, U.S. — Robert Majkrzak, president and chief executive officer of Red River Commodities, Fargo, North Dakota, U.S., was re-elected chair of the Northern Crops Council (NCC) at their reorganizational meeting on June 26.  The NCC is the governing board of the Northern Crops Institute (NCI).

Majkrzak represents processors and marketers of food and feed products. He joined the Northern Crops Council in 2007.

Karolyn Zurn, a producer from Callaway, Minnesota, U.S., was re-elected NCC vice-chair. Zurn represents the Minnesota Soybean Growers Association. Her first term on the NCC began in 2009.

Two new members joined the Northern Crops Council. Dwight Mork, a producer from Bellingham, Minnesota, U.S., was elected to the NCC by the Minnesota Corn Growers Association. Keith Peltier, president and CEO of Proseed, Harvey, North Dakota, U.S., will represent processors and marketers of food and feed products. He also serves on the board of directors of the Northern Canola Growers Association.

The Northern Crops Council is composed of six seats that are permanently occupied by the NDSU President, North Dakota Commissioner of Agriculture, and representatives of the North Dakota Wheat Commission, North Dakota Oilseed Council, North Dakota Barley Council and North Dakota Soybean Council. The additional 11 seats are filled by producers and food processors from Minnesota, Montana, North Dakota and South Dakota, who gain seats on the Council through election by the permanent members.

At the Industry Advisory Board (IAB) meeting on June 25,  John McLean, Cargill, West Fargo, North Dakota, was re-elected to his sixth term as chair.

The Industry Advisory Board advises NCI staff on educational programming and technical services. The board draws its members from the agricultural supply and processing industry and the grain trade in Minnesota, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota and the region.