ARLINGTON, VIRGINIA, US — The Institute for Feed Education and Research (IFEEDER) on May 16 installed new board leadership and trustees and discussed broadening awareness of its resources and initiatives that support the animal food industry during its annual board of trustees’ meeting.

“The value IFEEDER brings to the industry through its research and education efforts is getting noticed,” said outgoing IFEEDER board Chairperson Mike Schuster with Laidig Systems. “The buzz is growing. We’re getting better known and our conversations with members are more fruitful. Even if they aren’t engaged in sustainability, they are getting to know IFEEDER a bit better.”

As part of the business meeting, the trustees recognized Schuster for his leadership as board chairperson for the 2022-23 IFEEDER fiscal year, which ended April 30, and installed for the 2023-24 fiscal year Mike Gauss of Kent Nutrition Group as the new chairperson and Paul Phillips of Maxi-Lift Inc./Southwest Agri-Plastics as vice chairperson. Steve Lerner, PhD, of Chr. Hansen Animal Health and Nutrition, will chair the IFEEDER research committee and Leah Dorman, DVM, of Phibro Animal Health Corp., will chair the organization’s education and engagement committee.

New trustees also were installed: John Akridge, MFA Inc.; Jamee Krug, Elanco Animal Health; Courtney Hall, CHS Inc.; and Juan Tricarico, Innovation Center for US Dairy. They join Phillips, Dorman, Gauss, Lerner, Partha Bora, Wilbur-Ellis Co.; Scott Lovin, AgState; and Ashley McDonald, National Pork Board, on the board of trustees.

IFEEDER recognized the following outgoing trustees for their service: Gisele Santos-Bin, BASF Corp.; Kevin Halpin, PhD, International Ingredient Corp.; Joe Lucas, CJ Bio America, Inc.; John Metzger, Elanco Animal Health; and Schuster.