LUBBOCK, TEXAS, US — The National Sorghum Producers (NSP) board of directors elected Craig Meeker of Wellington, Kansas, US, as chairman and Amy France of Marienthal, Kansas, US, as vice chair during its annual board and budget meeting in August.

“I am incredibly humbled I have the opportunity to serve as chairman of the National Sorghum Producers,” said Meeker, who succeeds Kody Carson of Olton, Texas, US. “As I look forward to the things we have coming in the near future, I think we have a great opportunity to lay a firm foundation through the farm bill process to ensure sorghum farmers have a sustainable industry moving forward. 

“With the Partnerships for Climate-Smart Commodities grant NSP recently received, it gives me great excitement to think about how we can leverage this initial investment to move the sorghum industry forward.” 

The board also elected new members Garrett Love of Montezuma, Kansas, US, and Kent Martin of Alva, Oklahoma, US, and re-elected Larry Richardson of Vega, Texas, US. Love and Richardson each will serve a three-year term, which began Oct. 1. Martin will take his seat on the NSP board in December once his term is complete on the United Sorghum Checkoff Program board of directors.

“I am excited to welcome Craig and Amy to new leadership roles. Their drive and passion for the industry will be crucial as our industry moves through a challenging but exciting year," said Tim Lust, chief executive officer of NSP. “We are excited to welcome Kent and Garrett, and for the return of Larry, to the NSP board of directors. I have had the pleasure of working with all three individuals in various capacities during my tenure as CEO of NSP and the Sorghum Checkoff. Larry is a leader in the sorghum seed industry, and the knowledge and experience Kent and Garrett bring as farmers, plus their respective backgrounds in research and government affairs, will prove as great assets to the NSP board.”