ABERDEEN, SOUTH DAKOTA, US — Jason Klootwyk has been named the new chief executive officer of Agtegra Cooperative, succeeding Chris Pearson, who had served in the role since 2017, the company’s board of directors announced June 13.

With more than 20 years of agricultural experience, Klootwyk has been with Agtegra since 2019 and has held the roles of chief operating and risk officer and senior vice president of grain marketing and rail logistics. 

“After an extensive CEO search in which we saw some very elite candidates, we are excited to announce that our internal candidate rose to the top against the stiff competition,” said Rick Osterday, board chairman of Agtegra. “We are certain Agtegra’s future under Jason’s leadership will be positive for our members and employees.”

Klootwyk joined Aberdeen, South Dakota, US-based Agtegra in 2019 from Bunge North America, where he held multiple positions, including director of North America Origination, director of interior assets and Center Gulf Region manager.

Klootwyk is a member of the board of directors of the National Grain and Feed Association, a trustee on the National Grain and Feed Foundation and a past chairperson of the Indiana Grain and Feed Association. He is a graduate of Iowa State University with a bachelor of science degree in ag business.

“I am humbled to have been given the opportunity to lead this great organization,” Klootwyk said. “Our role in the food supply chain is a critical one, and I’m honored to get the privilege to lead our team as we work to support our member owners.”

Agtegra is the nation’s largest locally owned agricultural supply cooperative. It serves 6,700 farmer-owners predominantly in North Dakota and South Dakota with a network of 74 locations and 850 employees. 

Agtegra ranks as North America’s No. 12 grain storage company in Sosland Publishing Co.’s 2022 Grain & Milling Annual with 120.17 million bushels of licensed storage at 41 grain storage sites.