LONDON, ENGLAND — On the day it officially left the European Union, the United Kingdom on Jan. 1 joined the International Grains Council (IGC).

The UK had been a member of the IGC as part of the EU, but in 2016 British voters chose to break away from the EU, a decision commonly referred to as Brexit. After several years of negotiations, the EU and UK reached a trade deal on Dec. 24 and the UK officially left the EU on Jan. 1.

The UK has been designated as an importing member of the Council.

“The Council looks forward to the United Kingdom’s continued active participation in the IGC’s activities,” the IGC said.

The IGC is an intergovernmental organization that seeks to: further international cooperation in grains trade; promote expansion, openness and fairness in the grains sector; and contribute to grain market stability and enhance world food security.

The IGC membership currently comprises the following members: Algeria, Argentina, Australia, Canada, Côte d’Ivoire, Cuba, Egypt, European Union, India, Iran, Iraq, Japan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Korea (Rep), Morocco, Norway, Oman, Pakistan, Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, Serbia (Rep), South Africa, Switzerland, Tunisia, Turkey, Ukraine, the United Kingdom, the United States, and Vatican City.