OTTAWA, ONTARIO, CANADA — Marie-Claude Bibeau, minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food (AAFC), has named Doug Chorney as chief commissioner of the Canadian Grain Commission (CGC) after being interim chief commissioner since June 2020. His term is three years and effective immediately.

“Now more than ever, it is important to have strong leadership in our agriculture sector to ensure Canadians continue to have access to high-quality food through this challenging time,” Bibeau said. “I am confident that these two individuals will provide excellent leadership for our grain growers across the country and help the Canadian Grain Commission maintain a competitive and efficient grain sector.”

Chorney has been in the grain industry for 24 years and was appointed as assistant chief commissioner of the CGC in 2017.

Bibeau also named a new assistant chief commissioner, Patty Rosher. Rosher has held various leadership and advisory positions over her 25-year agriculture sector. She was most recently the general manager of the Keystone Agricultural Producers. Her term is four years and effective immediately.

The CGC regulates grain handling in Canada and establishes and maintains science-based standards of quality for Canadian grain.  

In 2016, the Canadian government implemented an appointment process that is transparent and merit-based, to search for Canadians who reflect public sector values of respect for democracy, people, integrity, stewardship and excellence.