SASKATOON, SASKATCHEWAN, CANADA — A new wheat research collaboration, the Canadian National Wheat Cluster, between Canada’s Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada (AAFC) and 10 organizations across Canada will address common issues that farmers face with the goal of improving varieties and agronomic practices.

“The new iteration of the Wheat Cluster leverages research capacity from across Canada to improve the performance of the various eastern and western Canadian wheat classes grown from coast to coast,” said Salah Zoghlami, president of the Canadian Field Crop Research Alliance (CFRCA). “This research will improve the adaptability and value of wheat in crop rotations and will ensure a competitive and sustainable crop option for farmers to enable them, and the value chains they supply, to produce and market a world-class commodity.”

Former AAFC Minister Lawrence MacAulay announced the Wheat Cluster, which will be through AAFC’s Canadian Agricultural Partnership’s AgriScience program and 10 private producer and private organizations from across Canada.

It will be led by the Canadian Wheat Research Coalition (CWRC), which includes the Saskatchewan Wheat Development Commission (Sask Wheat), the Alberta Wheat Commission (AWC), and the Manitoba Wheat and Barley Growers Association (MWBGA).

“The CWRC is proud to be the host of the new Canadian National Wheat Cluster,” said Terry Young, chair of the CWRC and director of the AWC. “This is a unique partnership of organizations, from the federal government to producer commissions from across Canada. We hope to provide Canadian wheat farmers with the technology and information they need to improve their farming operations while maintaining Canada’s reputation for providing quality wheat for markets around the globe.”

The funders of the Wheat Cluster include:

  • Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada (C$13.9 million)
  • Alberta Wheat Commission (C$2.6 million)
  • Saskatchewan Wheat Development Commission (C$3.1 million)
  • Manitoba Wheat and Barley Growers Association (C$932,000)
  • Western Grains Research Foundation (C$2.5 million)
  • Canadian Field Crop Research Alliance (CFCRA) (C$1.6 million)
    • Atlantic Grains Council
    • SeCan
    • Grain Farmers of Ontario
    • Producteurs de grains du Québec
  • Saskatchewan Winter Cereals Development Commission (C$185,000)
  • Winter Cereals Manitoba (C$100,000)