CALGARY ALBERTA, CANADA — Nine individuals were elected to the board of directors of Canadian Pacific Railway Ltd. during the company’s recent annual general meeting in Calgary, Alberta. Additionally, upon her re-election as a director, Isabelle Courville is now confirmed as chair of CP’s board of directors.

“I congratulate Isabelle on becoming chair of the board and on making history as the first woman to hold that position, not only for CP but across the Class 1s in North America,” said Keith Creel, president and chief executive officer of CP. “As an organization whose values hinge on pride and diversity, I’m extremely proud to serve on this diverse board with these distinguished business leaders. I also want to thank Andy for his tireless service, dedication and outstanding leadership over the last four years as chair of the board.”

Courville is chair of the board of directors of the Laurentian Bank of Canada. From 2007 to 2013, she was president of Hydro-Québec Distribution and Hydro-Québec TransÉnergie. She was active for 20 years in the Canadian telecommunications industry. She served as president of Bell Canada's Enterprise Group and as president and CEO of Bell Nordiq Group.

Courville has a bachelor’s degree in engineering physics from the École Polytechnique de Montréal and a bachelor’s degree in civil law from McGill University.

Courville replaces Andrew F. Reardon, who announced in December 2018 he would be retiring following the annual general meeting.

“I am very proud to be chair of the board of directors of CP and re-elected as a director,” Courville said. “It’s my honor to serve CP, an iconic company, and I look forward to continuing the momentum established by Andy in this role. On behalf of the entire board, we wish Andy well in his retirement and thank him for his valuable contribution and leadership.”

The eight other directors elected to the board are as follows:

  • John Baird
  • Keith E. Creel
  • Gillian H. Denham
  • Rebecca MacDonald
  • Edward Monser
  • Matthew H. Paull
  • Jane L. Peverett
  • Gordon T. Trafton