WASHINGTON, D.C., U.S. — U.S. Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue appointed 16 members to serve on the United Soybean Board.

Producers newly appointed to serve three-year terms are:

·       Arkansas – Jim Carroll III, Brinkley, Arkansas

·       Georgia – Walter L. Godwin, Pelham, Georgia

·       Illinois – Lynn Rohrscheib, Fairmount, Illinois

·       Indiana – Mark Alan Seib, Poseyville, Indiana

·       Iowa – April Hemmes, Hampton, Iowa

·       Kentucky – Brent Gatton, Bremen, Kentucky

·       Louisiana – Garrett Marsh, Tallulah, Louisiana

·       Minnesota – Rochelle Krusemark, Sherburn, Minn.

·       Missouri – Patrick Hobbs, Dudley, Montana

·       Nebraska – Tony Johanson, Oakland, Nebraska

·       North Carolina – Benjamin Derek Potter, Grantsboro, N.C.

·       North Dakota – Jay Myers, Colfax, North Dakota

·       Ohio – Jeff Magyar, Orwell, Ohio

·       Pennsylvania – Andrew J. Fabin, Homer City, Pennsylvania

·       South Dakota – David Iverson, Astoria, South Dakota

·       Virginia – Robert W. White Jr., Virginia Beach, Virginia

“I truly appreciate the time and expertise these individuals have agreed to give guiding the United Soybean Board,” Perdue said. “Their work is especially important as we work to improve international opportunities for American farmers and ranchers. Together we will help them thrive by increasing domestic and international demand for the nearly 90 million acres of soybeans produced by U.S. farmers.”

The board is authorized by the Soybean Promotion, Research and Information Act and is composed of 73 members representing 29 states and Eastern and Western regions. Members must be soybean producers nominated by a qualified state soybean board.

Since 1966, U.S. Congress has authorized the establishment of 22 industry-funded research and promotion boards. They work to help farmers and ranchers to leverage their own resources to develop new markets, strengthen existing markets, and conduct important research and promotion activities.

USDA’s Agricultural Marketing Service provides oversight, paid for by industry assessments, which ensures fiscal accountability and program integrity.