WICHITA, KANSAS, U.S. — The National Sorghum Producers board of directors added new leadership during its annual August board meeting.

Some officers were elected and four were appointed.

NSP board member Dan Atkisson of Stockton, Kansas, was elected chairman. Don Bloss of Pawnee City, Nebraska, is moving to the past chairman position, and board director Kody Carson of Olton, Texas, was elected vice-chairman.

New directors appointed to the board include Danny Beyer of Odem, Texas; Amy France of Marienthal, Kansas; and Craig Meeker of Wellington, Kansas. Larry Richardson of Vega, Texas, was also newly appointed to the board to fill a one-year term held by Mike Battin who stepped down from the board in March. All other directors will serve three-year terms beginning Oct. 1 at the start of the new fiscal year.

"Our new board members will provide new perspectives and insight to promote change and help build key relationships as NSP continues to improve the sorghum industry though advocacy and leadership," Atkisson said. "We look forward to their guidance as we continue to craft policies important to sorghum producers."

Beyer is a farmer in South Texas with over 40 years of involvement. He has served on several agricultural boards and committees and hopes to add insight to NSP through his experiences. He is actively involved in the NSP Legislative Committee and would like to continue to promote the value of services NSP provides to the industry.

France is a producer in western Kansas and is an active member not only in her community but in the state and nationally, as well. She has been engaged in the legislative promotion of agriculture and has testified in front of the U.S. Senate Agriculture Committee on the importance of the farm bill and its impact on rural U.S. France is looking forward to educating members and non-member farmers of the importance of regulation, legislation and involvement for generations to come.

Meeker is a farmer from south central Kansas and is a Leadership Sorghum Class III graduate. He has a special interest in policy and anticipates advocating for sorghum in the legislative process. Meeker understands the importance of free and fair trade and looks forward to promoting industry stability and bringing growth to the sorghum industry.

Richardson is a producer in West Texas who is actively involved in his community and has been in involved in the sorghum seed industry since 1981. Richardson understands the importance of sorghum within conservation and food consumption. He looks forward to using his industry experience to help influence legislation and conservation policy.                                                                       

The NSP board of directors also recognized four leaders in the sorghum industry who end their terms on the board Sept. 30. J.B Stewart of Keyes, Oklahoma, and James Born of Booker, Texas, served from 2010-2018 and are both former chairmen. Mike Battin of Lubbock, Texas, served from 2014-18, and Kendall Hodgson of Little River, Kansas, served from 2012-18.

"We owe a great debt of gratitude to our outgoing leadership for their service and accomplishments," Atkisson said. "Their support, leadership and dedication to sorghum have made valuable improvements to our industry."

New directors and officers will take their respective positions on the NSP board Oct. 1.