WASHINGTON, D.C., U.S. — TheU.S. Department of Agriculture
(USDA) Secretary Sonny Perdue announced the appointment of four members to serve on the United Sorghum Checkoff Program Board on July 5.

Producers newly appointed to serve three-year terms are:

  • Craig A. Poore, Alton, Kansas
  • Boyd Funk, Garden City, Kansas
  • Jim Massey IV, Robstown, Texas
  • Adam Schindler, Reliance, South Dakota (At-Large)

Schindler will fill the at-large seat currently held by David Fremark of St. Lawrence, South Dakota, who will complete his service as board director in December. Funk, Poore and Massey all were reappointed to their respective seats.

“The United Sorghum Checkoff Program Board works to help increase demand for sorghum both domestically and internationally,” Perdue said. “Last year, more than $1 billion of U.S. sorghum was sold in more than 21 countries around the world. I truly appreciate the time and expertise these individuals have agreed to give to guide their industry and help it thrive.”

The 13-member board is composed of nine sorghum farmers who represent Kansas, Texas and Oklahoma, the three states with the largest sorghum production, and four at-large national representatives.

Since 1966, U.S. Congress has authorized the establishment of 22 industry-funded research and promotion boards. It works to empower farmers and ranchers to leverage their own resources to develop new markets, strengthen existing markets, and conduct important research and promotion activities. The U.S. Department of Agriculture’s Agricultural Marketing Service (AMS) provides oversight, paid for by industry assessments, which ensures fiscal accountability and program integrity for participating stakeholders.