Rice Millers Association elects officers, honors Kaplan

by Emily Wilson
Share This:

Charles Trahan, president of Falcon Rice Mill Inc., Crowley, Louisiana, U.S., was elected as chairman of the Rice Millers Association at its 103rd Convention in Colorado in June.

Len Federico was elected as RMA vice chairman. Federico is vice president, U.S. rice exports, Louis Dreyfus Corporation, Wilton, Connecticut, U.S.

On behalf of the board of directors, Trahan presented a plaque to outgoing RMA Chairman Donald C. Haywood in recognition of his service and leadership on industry issues during his term of office.

The RMA Distinguished Service Award, presented to exceptional individuals for extraordinary service, was awarded to Stan Kaplan. Kaplan’s career in the rice industry has spanned 40 years with the Tiger Oats Group, a major South African food company, and Tastic Rice Corporation. Through Kaplan’s leadership, Tastic’s main label—Tastic Rice—became the largest selling rice brand in any single country worldwide.