Canadian Grain Commission appoints commissioner, directors

by Emily Wilson
Share This:

Agriculture and Agri-Food Minister Lyle Vanclief has appointed Chris Hamblin as the chief commissioner of the Canadian Grain Commission.

Hamblin has operated a Manitoba grain and seed farm since 1976 and was recently involved in two CGC committees. She was vice-president of the Keystone Agricultural Producers from 1999 to 2001 and has been involved in many boards and committees, including the AIDA Producer Review Committee, the Manitoba Rural Adaptation Council, the Climate Change Task Force and the Premier’s Economic Advisory Council.

Jim Stuart, director of industry services, Canadian Grain Commission, has announced the appointments of Rick Bevilacqua and Richard Fortin as regional directors.

Bevilacqua will manage the operations of the Thunder Bay Region, while Fortin will manage the operations of the Eastern Region where the CGC provides inspection, weighing, documentation and certification services at all licensed transfer elevators along the St. Lawrence River.

They will advise the local grain industry, shippers and marketers on CGC policy and regulations regarding grain handling and quality assurance.